Skip to product information
1 of 2

Bote & Bock

Dean Three Caprichos After Goya Guitar

Regular price $35.95 AUD
Regular price Sale price $35.95 AUD
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.


Dean's short pieces can be traced back to a concert project of the Staatsgalerie Stuttgart in 2003 at which a number of compositions were commissioned for the guitarist Jürgen Ruck on the basis of Goya's Caprichos. This famous graphic cycle of 1799 is a deeply moving portrait of a hopeless society. Dean gave the three scenes chosen by him (a humpbacked old man and his poor young bride a daughter who has come into money and no longer recognises her destitute mother a dancer pestered by three gallows birds) a musical form that is both sonorous and oppressive as well as pictorial and virtuoso - a fascinating dialogue between the arts.

Category: Guitar & Folk

Sub Category 1: Repertoire

Sub Category 2: Solos

Composer: Brett Dean

Medium: Softcover

Publisher: Bote & Bock

ISBN13: 9783793141068

Instrument: Classical Guitar