Skip to product information
1 of 1

Brass Wind Publications

SKU: BW4101

Bourgeois Euphonium Concerto Op 120

Regular price
$80.95 AUD
Regular price
Sale price
$80.95 AUD


Derek Bourgeois composed his Euphonium Concerto in the spring of 1990. It is a straightforward tuneful work in three contrasted movements. The first movement is in regular sonata form with a lively first subject that has a strong rhythmic character. The second subject is lyrical and wistful. The development is mainly concerned with material derived from the opening subject. The movement concludes with a jaunty coda.

The second movement again has two main themes. The first is slow and melancholy with a marching bass line. The second is more overtly melodic with lush accompanying harmonies.

The finale is brief, highly rhythmical, and in three sections. There is some complex time juggling in the outer portions, though the character of the music is light hearted. The central episode is more lyrical, with a close affinity to the second subject of the first movement.

The whole piece makes great virtuosic demands on the soloist, who for much of the time plays in a high tessitura. It calls for tremendous agility, yet also requires musicianship and shaping in its more reflective moments.

Category: Brass

Sub Category 1: Repertoire

Sub Category 2: Solos

Composer: Derek Bourgeois

Medium: Softcover

Publisher: Brass Wind Publications

ISBN13: 9790570272853

Instrument: Euphonium

Accompaniment: Piano

No reviews